The Australian Parliament

The role of the Australian Parliament is to:


speak on behalf of Australians


make and change Australian law


closely examine the government

The Australian Parliament is made up of:

The King

represented by the Governor-General

76 Senators

in the Senate

151 members

in the House of Representatives

The Australian Parliament meets in Canberra, the nation's capital.

The Australian Government is formed by the group that has the support of the majority – more than half – of the members in the House of Representatives.