Two new senators and a new President

New senators Cox and Grogan were sworn in on the same morning that the Senate elected Senator Brockman as its new President.

Oct 18, 2021

The Senate had two important tasks before it could start on its usual work, the swearing in of new senators and the election of a President. Normally the President would start proceedings, but previous President, Senator the Hon Scott Ryan, had already resigned. It was the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), who began by presiding over the swearing in of the two new senators. The Governor-General does not usually attend proceedings and left the Senate after congratulating Senators Cox and Grogan.

The Clerk of the Senate then facilitated the process for electing a new President, which included a ballot as two nominations were received. The convention of electing a government senator for President was observed with Liberal Senator Slade Brockman from Western Australia receiving 45 votes. The only other senator to nominate for President was Greens Senator Mehreen Faruqi who received 7 votes.

Senator Brockman took the President’s chair and thanked his fellow senators for their support. He said that he would uphold the traditions of the Senate, noting that ‘Whilst a diverse range of perspectives are represented in this chamber, I will treat each of you as duly elected and equal representatives of your states.’