New ministry

Following the federal election held on 18 May, the Prime Minister, the Hon Scott Morrison MP, has announced his ministry

May 29, 2019

This includes all ministers and their assigned portfolios—areas of government responsibility. Some ministers are appointed to the Cabinet, which is the top-level decision-making group within the Australian Government.

The Hon Ken Wyatt MP has been appointed as the first Indigenous Cabinet minister in the role of Minister for Indigenous Australians.

The Hon Stuart Robert MP joins the Cabinet as the Minister for Government Services, to focus on government service delivery. He will also be Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

In addition to her role as the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Senator the Hon Marise Payne has been appointed Minister for Women. As well as his duties as Attorney-General, the Hon Christian Porter MP will take on the role of Minister for Industrial Relations.

Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds is the new Minister for Defence, with the Hon Melissa Price MP, who was the Minister for the Environment, taking on the role of Minister for Defence Industry. The Hon Sussan Ley MP returns to the Cabinet as the new Minister for the Environment. The Hon Angus Taylor MP will continue as the Minister for Energy and the responsibility for Emissions Reduction has been added to his portfolio.

The Hon Paul Fletcher MP, who was the Minister for Families and Social Services, has been given the role of Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts. Senator the Hon Anne Ruston joins the Cabinet as the new Minister for Family and Social Services.

Ministers have been sworn-in to their new roles by the Governor-General at Government House in Canberra.