Puttin’ on the writs!

The Prime Minister, the Hon Scott Morrison MP, has announced that an election will be held on 18 May 2019.

Apr 15, 2019

The Official Secretary to the Governor-General formally read out a proclamation proroguing the Parliament and dissolving the House of Representatives on the morning of 11 April 2019 on the Great Verandah at Parliament House. This brought the 45th Parliament to a close.

The Australian Government is now working under caretaker conventions. This means that the ordinary business of governing the nation continues, but the government avoids making major policy decisions or carrying out large projects without consulting the opposition. More information on caretaker conventions can be found here.

Following the election in May, the government will be formed by the party or coalition of parties with the support of the majority (more than half) of the 151 members elected to the House of Representatives. The 46th Parliament will then commence with an opening ceremony at Parliament House.