New Prime Minister and ministry

The parliamentary members of the Liberal Party of Australia have voted to replace the Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP as Prime Minister. 

Aug 29, 2018

At a party room meeting, the members chose the former Treasurer, the Hon Scott Morrison MP, to lead the party, making him the 30th Prime Minister of Australia. The party also voted to replace the Deputy Leader, the Hon Julie Bishop MP, with the former Minister for the Environment and Energy, the Hon Josh Frydenberg MP.

Following his appointment as Prime Minister, Mr Morrison announced a Cabinet reshuffle, changing some portfolios—areas of government responsibility. Mr Frydenburg is the new Treasurer, with his previous portfolio of Environment and Energy being split between two new ministries. The Hon Melissa Price MP enters the ministry to take on the role of Minister for the Environment and the Hon Angus Taylor MP is the new Minister for Energy.

Senator the Hon Marise Payne leaves the role of Minister for Defence to become the Minister for Foreign Affairs, with the Hon Christopher Pyne MP the new Minister for Defence.  The Hon Dan Tehan MP takes on the role of Minister for Education, a role previously filled by Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham, who is now the Minister for Trade.

The Hon Peter Dutton MP remains the Minister for Home Affairs, with the Hon David Coleman MP to be the Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs.

Ministers have been sworn-in to their new roles by the Governor-General at Government House in Canberra.