New senators sworn-in

With the swearing-in of two new senators, the Senate now has a complete membership of 76 for the first time since 14 July last year. 

Apr 6, 2018

The President of the Senate, Senator the Hon Scott Ryan, tweeted that this is the longest period of time since federation that the Senate has had vacancies.

Mr Tim Storer was sworn-in as a senator for South Australia, replacing former Senator Skye Kakoschke-Moore, who was found ineligible to be in Parliament as a result of her dual citizenship.

Ms Amanda Stoker was sworn-in as a senator for Queensland, replacing former Senator George Brandis, who left Parliament to take up the post of High Commissioner of Australia to the United Kingdom.